Your clothing store for men in Second Life

Sweaters and Caps for the mid season

It’s Springtime in the Northern Hemisphere and Autumn to the South of the equator. Thinking of the mid season, Havana brings to you the Summer Breeze Sweater with prim collar, which goes very well with our new prim Cap.

Summer Breeze Sweater Combo - Wine

Summer Breeze Sweater Combo - Wine

The Sweater comes in four different colors: gray, wine, beige and blue; the Cap, in two versions: black and brown. And to make it easier to adjust the collar and the cap, we’re providing re-sizer scripts with them.

Summer Breeze Sweater Blue

Summer Breeze Sweater Blue

Havana Cap - Black

Havana Cap - Black

Summer Breeze Sweater - Gray

Summer Breeze Sweater - Gray

Havana Cap - Brown

Havana Cap - Brown

Summer Breeze Sweater - Beige

Summer Breeze Sweater - Beige

“How about their color packs? Havana always releases color packs!”

“Oh, sorry, no color packs this time.”

“How come?!!!”

“Hehehe… this time we opted for something different: we’re selling packs composed of a Sweater and a Cap!”

Summer Breeze Sweater Combo - Blue (Blue Sweater + Brown Cap)

Summer Breeze Sweater Combo - Blue (Blue Sweater + Brown Cap)

So, to summarize:

– Havana Summer Breeze Sweater: L$ 125 (Options: Gray, Wine, Beige or Blue)

– Havana Cap: L$ 100 (Options: Black or Brown)

– Havana Summer Breeze Sweater + Havana Cap Pack: L$ 175 (Options: Gray Sweater + Black Cap, Wine Sweater + Black Cap, Beige Sweater + Brown Cap or Blue Sweater + Brown Cap)

Where can you buy them?
Havana at The Gayborhood (in SL)
Havana at Gay World (in SL)
Havana at Sky Tower (in SL)
Havana at Zeus Men’s Mall (in SL)
Havana on Xstreet SL
Havana on Apez

Now, as I’ve been planning to do with my posts, I’ll address some “conceptual” aspects of the items being released. Maybe not all readers will be interested, but I thought it could be helpful for those who are interested in the creative process, which is also an aspect of fashion.

I decided to make a sweater as an option to wear with something else that I’m planning for future release. But, after deciding I’d need a Sweater in Havana’s collection, I realized I didn’t want to make something just as a “piece to wear with something else”. So, I thought I’d benefit from it to learn a couple of things. I think the most useful one was how to use Blender to create sculpted prims. Before, I used to rely on another program, but I wasn’t so happy with the results. Now I think it’s better: I could make a collar for the Sweater exactly as i thought and with minimum “level of details” issues (also known as LOD issues, that distortion you see in SL when you cam away from the sculpt).

After making the collar, I thought it would be nice to have a sculpted Cap, too, to go with the Sweater (of course, it could be worn with other items, too, but the idea was to have something that would look good with the Sweaters). But I wanted a very simple one, for my intention, from the beginning, was to create a simple, “clean” visual.

Finally, I also learned something about texturing – but this is not really new: whenever I make a new item, I test some different method for working with textures on the clothes. To be honest, I think I’ve achieved some good results there, but I’m not fully happy with any of those methods yet. So I’ll keep trying.

Another interesting point: I’ve been developing my abilities for taking pics in Second Life. Pics play an essential part in the fashion industry. Not only do they make things more attractive, but they also transmit an atmosphere, some aesthetic message – or, better, some aesthetic affection. In this post, I used images with RL scenes as backgrounds. In some cases I distorted the backgrounds using The Gimp, and in other cases I just used the scenes “as they were”. Nonetheless, in all cases the scenes were uploaded to SL. It was a curious way to work.

Also, I am proud of Keebs. He is the author of our re-sizer script and I think it’s a great one. I know nothing about scripts, so I can’t tell how hard it was to make that one, but we tested it and it seemed to me that the script works very well.

Leave a Reply

